Plenary Talks

DATE: 3/20/2019

Alan E. Willner

University of Southern California, USA

    Prof. Alan Willner is currently the Steven and Kathryn Sample Chaired Professor of the Univ. of Southern California. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, International Fellow of the U.K. Royal Academy of Engineering, Presidential Faculty Fellows Award from the White House. He is a Fellow of the AAAS, IEEE, IET, OSA, SPIE and National Academy of Inventors.
    Prof. Willner has received many awards, including IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award, Paul Forman Engineering Excellence Award (OSA), IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award, SPIE President's Award, OSA Robert Hopkins Leadership Award, etc. He is a Member of the U.S. Army Science Board, was a Member of the Defense Sciences Research Council and co-Chair of the U.S. National Academies Committee on the Optics and Photonics Study. He was the President of the Optical Society (OSA) and President of the IEEE Photonics Society (formerly LEOS). Prof. Willner was the Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Lightwave Technology (JLT), Optics Letter and IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics, as well as the associate Editor or guest editor of various journals.
    Prof. Willner has >1300 publications, including one book, 9 edited books, >35 U.S. patents, >39 keynotes/plenaries, >23 book chapters, >375 refereed journal papers, and >225 invited papers/presentations. His research is in optical technologies, including: communications, signal processing, networks, and subsystems.

Chennupati Jagadish

Australian National University, Australia

    Prof. Jagadish is a Distinguished Professor of the Australian National University. He is currently serving as President of IEEE Photonics Society and President of Australian Materials Research Society. He is serving as Editor-in-Chief of Progress in Quantum Electronics. His research interests include compound semiconductor optoelectronics, nanotechnology, photovoltaics and neuroscience and neurotechnology. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, a Fellow of IEEE, APS, OSA, SPIE, AAAS, TWAS, etc., a Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors, an Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and Indian National Academy of Engineering.
    He is currently serving as an Editor-in-Chief of Progress in Quantum Electronic, an Editor of the Journal Semiconductor Technology and Science and an Associate Editor of Applied Physics Reviews and Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics. He has been awarded Australian Federation Fellowship (2004-2009) and Australian Laureate Fellowship (2009-2014) by the Australian Research Council. He has received many awards, including The Quantum Device Award (ISCS, 2010), IEEE Pioneer in Nanotechnology Award (2015), IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award (2015), Distinguished Fellow of the Chinese Academy of Sciences President's International Fellowship Initiative (2016), Welker Award from ISCS (2017), IUMRS Somiya Award (2017) and AVS Nanotechnology Recognition Award (2018).


Hotel Reservation


Southwest Jiaotong University

University of Electronic Science and Technology of China


Technical Sponsors: