Important Dates

Submission Deadline:
Jul. 19  Aug. 1

Early Bird Registration Deadline:
Sep. 20

Postdeadline Abstract Submission Deadline:
Oct. 8

Call For Papers

Tutorial Speakers

DATE: 6/12/2019

Yasuhiko Arakawa
University of Tokyo, Japan

Quantum dot lasers and related nanophotonic devices

Yasuhiko Arakawa received the B.E., M.E., and Ph.D. degrees in electronics and electrical engineering from the University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, in 1975, 1977, and 1980, respectively. In 1980, he joined The University of Tokyo as an Assistant Professor and became a Full Professor in 1993. He is currently a Specially-Appointed Professor of the Institute for Nano Quantum Information Electronics, The University of Tokyo, and also Professor Emeritus of The University of Tokyo. His major research interests include physics, growth, and photonics application of quantum dots.

He received numerous awards including ISCS Quantum Devices Award in 2002, Leo Esaki Award in 2004, IEEE/LEOS William Streifer Award in 2004, the Fujiwara Award in 2007, the Prime Minister Award in 2007, the Medal with Purple Ribbon in 2009, IEEE David Sarnoff Award in 2009, the C&C Award in 2010, ISCS Heinrich Welker Award in 2011, OSA Nick Holonyak Jr. Award in 2011, JSAP Isamu Akasaki Award in 2012, Japan Academy Prize in 2017, and IEEE Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal in 2019. IN 2017, he was elected as a Foreign Member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE). He is a Life Fellow of IEEE and Fellows of OSA, JSAP, and IEICE.

Ben Eggleton
University of Sydney, Australia

Integrated hybrid photonic platforms for digital and microwave processing

Professor Benjamin Eggleton is the Director of The University of Sydney Nano Institute. He also currently serves as co-Director of the NSW Smart Sensing Network (NSSN). Eggleton was the founding Director of the Institute of Photonics and Optical Science (IPOS) at the University of Sydney and served as Director from 2009-2018. He was previously an ARC Laureate Fellow and an ARC Federation Fellow twice and was founding Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS) from 2003-2017.

Eggleton obtained the Bachelor's degree (with honors) in Science in 1992 and Ph.D. degree in Physics from the University of Sydney in 1996. He then joined Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies as a Postdoctoral Member of Staff in the Optical Physics Department under the supervision of Dr Richard Slusher. In 1998 Eggleton transferred to the Optical Fiber Research Department as a Member of Technical Staff and was promoted to Technical Manager of the Fiber Gratings Group in 2000. He was then promoted to Research Director within the Specialty Fiber Business Division of Bell Laboratories, where he was engaged in forward-looking research supporting Lucent Technologies business in optical fiber devices.

Eggleton is the author or coauthor of more than 490 journal publications, including Science, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Communications, Physical Review Letters and Optica and over 200 invited presentations. His journal papers have been cited 21,000 times according to webofscience with an h-number of 69 (92 in google scholar).

Eggleton is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), the Optical Society of America, IEEE Photonics and SPIE. He is Editor-in-Chief of APL Photonics.

Juerg Leuthold
ETH Zürich, Switzerland

High-speed plasmonic communications

Juerg Leuthold is the head of the Institute of Electromagnetic Fields (IEF) at ETH Zurich, Switzerland since 2013. His interest are in the field of Photonics, Plasmonics and Microwave with an emphasis on applications in communications and sensing. In the time from 2004 until 2013 he was affiliated with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in Germany, where he was the Head of the Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics (IPQ) and the Helmholtz Institute of Microtechnology (IMT). From 1999 to 2004, he was affiliated with Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, Holmdel, NJ, USA, where he performed device and system research with III/V semiconductor and silicon optical bench materials for applications in high-speed telecommunications. Juerg Leuthold received the Ph.D. degree in physics from ETH Zurich in Switzerland for work in the field of integrated optics and all-optical communications in 1998.

Juerg Leuthold is a fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA), a fellow of the IEEE and a member of the Heidelberg Academy of Science. He served the community as member of the Helmholtz Association Think Tank, as a member of the board of directors of OSA and in many technical program committees or as the general chair of meetings.

Xiang Liu
Futurewei Technologies, USA

Optical transport and access technologies for 5G wireless networks

Xiang Liu received the Ph.D. degree in applied physics from Cornell University in 2000. He is currently Senior Director  of Optical Access Network Research at Futurewei Technologies, Huawei R&D USA, focusing on next-generation optical access technologies. Prior to this, Dr. Liu had been a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Bell Labs, working on high-speed optical fiber transport technologies such as 100G/400G/1T coherent transmission. He has authored/coauthored more than 330 journal and conference papers, and holds over 80 US patents. Dr. Liu is a Fellow of the IEEE and the OSA. He is serving as a Deputy Editor of Optics Express, a Co-Editor of IEEE Communications Magazine’s optical communications series, and a General Co-Chair of OFC 2018.

Jianping Yao
University of Ottawa, Canada

Microwave photonics and applications

  • Fellow of the Academy of Science, Royal Society of Canada (RSC) (2018)
  • R.A. Fessenden Award (2018)
  • uOttawa Award for Excellence in Research 2017-2018
  • Distinguished University Professor (2016)
  • IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer 2013-2015
  • Fellow of The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) (2012)
  • Fellow of IEEE (2012)
  • Fellow of The Optical Society of America (OSA) (2010)
  • University Research Chair in Microwave Photonics (2007)
  • George S. Glinski Award for Excellence in Research (2007)
Hotel Reservation
Request invitation letter for Visa


Southwest Jiaotong University

University of Electronic Science and Technology of China


Technical Sponsors: